EBEC Team Design 2020-2021

What is Team Design?

EBEC Team Design is a competition that puts the ingenuity, dexterity and efficiency of teams of four participants to the test. In only four days, they’ve got to design a prototype that satisfies a given problem that can range from launching an egg-proof rocket to building a moveable bridge.

The aim is to design a creative solution in CAD software (SolidEdge, SolidWorks). Their final product will be evaluated by a panel of experts, who will judge its originality, performance and other characteristics.

All students of the Faculties of Engineering Technology, Bioscience Engineering, Science and Engineering Science can participate, whether they are freshmen or master students. The first three teams will be awarded and the winning team will get the chance to go to the Regional Round of EBEC.

EBEC Team Design will push each team to the limit when working with a limited amount of time and with limited resources. But first and foremost, it will be a wonderful experience based on fun and friendship.

Edition 2020-2021

EBEC Team Design 2020-2021 will take place from Monday 29th of March 2021 until Friday April 1st completely online. Register now and discover the creative engineer inside you! Our partners for Team Design this year are VTK and HR Rail.

HR Rail is an integral service provider that is responsible within the Belgian Railways for providing service and expertise in the field of recruitment and selection, career and internal mobility, transversal training, health and well-being at work, wage and personnel management, legal advice, social consultation and social services.

As the legal employer of all railway staff, HR Rail is responsible for providing HR services that meet the expectations of NMBS and Infrabel to whom the majority of the staff has been made available.



20:00 – 21:00

Welcoming presentation and task explanation
21:00 – 21:30 Q&A session on the task


20:00 – 21:00

CAD Software/Pitching workshop


19:00 – 21:30

Bonus points from HR Rail


19:00 – 21:30

Presentations for the jury

22:00 – 22:30

Ending ceremony


prof. Wim Michiels
prof. Wim Dehaene
prof. Jos Vander Sloten
prof. Harry Van Lenthe